Remembering Nelson Briles

Nelson BrilesI want to remember the life of Nelson Briles, who was my teammate during my very brief time with the Texas Rangers in 1976.  He spent fourteen years as a major league pitcher and won World Series rings with the Cardinals and Pirates.  I remember Nellie was about as strong a family man as I ever saw in baseball, and was an all-around good person.   Because he spent the first nine years of his career in the National League, I didn’t see him pitch until August of 1974, when I was with the Indians and he was playing for the Royals.  He threw a complete game and beat us.  When I was traded to Texas, he was one of the first to make me feel welcome.  Nellie died ten years ago of a heart attack while playing in a Pirates golf tournament.  He would have been 72 today.

Leave a Reply

