Happy Birthday, Hank Allen

Hank AllenHappy Birthday to Hank Allen, who played for the Senators, Brewers and White Sox from 1966 to 1973.  The Yankees opened the season at D.C. Stadium with President Lyndon Johnson throwing out the first pitch.  Mel Stottlemyre pitched opening day and the Yankees won.  I was the pitcher in the second game, and this was the first time I saw Dick Allen’s little brother.  The problem for me was that I didn’t make it to his At-Bat.  I gave up an RBI triple to Frank Howard in the first, and had a much worse second inning.  I have up five runs and Jim Bouton came in to replace me.  I had to wait until August 27, when the Yankees returned to Washington, to actually throw a pitch to Hank.  It was the bottom of the first with two outs and runners on second and third; he grounded out to Charley Smith at third to end the inning.  After getting a leadoff walk against me in the fourth, he flew out to Roy White in right in the sixth and I struck him out in the eighth.  The Yankees won 8-2.  Hank had a lifetime .269 average against me; that was higher than his brother, Dick, whose career average was .250 off my pitching.  I never faced the third Allen brother, Ron, who played only in the National League.

Leave a Reply

