Nate Mikolas, Dick Bosman and Rick Reichardt

Nathan MikolasOutfielder Nate Mikolas of the Pulaski Yankees continues his offensive tear. He went 2-for-4 tonight with 2 runs and an RBI, and now has a .339 batting average. He’s 13-for-37 over the last ten days, and he hit for cycle last weekend. With Second Baseman Billy Fleming (.444) advancing to the Trenton Thunder AA team last week, Nate is now the team’s leading hitter, and in contention for the Appalachian League batting title. I really enjoy watching for how this young player does every day.

I’ve got Wisconsin on my mind tonight, especially because two Wisconsin guys almost stopped me from winning 20 games in 1970.  Watching Nate got me thinking about another Kenosha, Wisconsin native, Dick Bosman, who was an exceptional American League pitcher.  We were both rookies in 1966 and both pitched until 1976.  Dick was with the Washington Senators/Texas Rangers until he was traded to the Cleveland Indians in 1973. I joined him on the Tribe pitching staff the next season.  Before that we pitched against each other a few times.  I remember one game where the Senators were playing the Yankees at Yankee Stadium.  It was July 5, 1970 and I was having my career year and got to pitch in the American League All-Star game nine days later.  Dick hit a single off me in the bottom of the third inning, and scored on Frank Howard’s two-run double.  We were tied 2-2, though Dick was pitching better than me that day, and in the bottom of the eighth, Rick Reichardt – another Wisconsin native — hit an RBI single that knocked me out of the game.  We wound up losing 7-3.

Leave a Reply

