Happy Birthday to David May, Jr. and Happy Belated Birthday to Derrick May

Derrick MayDave MayOn Tuesday, I was all caught up in reminiscing about the 1970 All-Star game that I forgot to extend my best birthday wishes to Derrick May. I knew his father, Dave May, a good hitter (he had a .353 lifetime average against me) and genuinely nice guy who played in the major league from 1967 to 1968. Two away games I particularly remember were in 1973 against the Milwaukee Brewers. On July 29, he went 3-for-5 against me. One hit set up an inning where the Brewers scored two runs, and another was an RBI single. I pitched a complete game (Derrick, those were before your time!) but we lost, 7-2. The other was on September 25. Dave went 2-for-4. The Brewers won that game with Pedro Garcia’s walk-off RBI single in the bottom of the 13th. All of us in baseball are proud of your Dad’s achievements, and yours.

And today is the birthday of David May Jr., now a scout for the Blue Jays. Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

