Remembering Donn Clendenon

Donn ClendenonOver the last few weeks, I have enjoyed recognizing the birthday of someone I played with as a starting point to talking about some of my baseball experiences in the 1960’s and 1970’s. Sometimes that doesn’t work, and today is one of those days. Everyone celebrating a birthday today who played during my era is a National Leaguer. I did notice that today would have been the 80th birthday of Don Clendenon, an excellent hitter and an extraordinary man. As a Yankee in 1969, I hated the Mets. Call it jealousy, whatever. But anyone who loves baseball must admire Donn’s accomplishments on and off the field. I want to pay tribute to him. And I cannot do better than the biographical article written by Ed Hoyt. I hope you will take the time to read it:  http://sabr.org/bioproj/person/d9b9b223

Leave a Reply

