I loved pitching to Reggie Jackson because he couldn’t hit me

Reggie JacksonI had 1,015 strikeouts during my eleven seasons as a Major League Baseball pitcher.  The player I struck out most was Hall of Famer Reggie Jackson: 23 times between his rookie season (1967) and my final year (1976).  Reggie had a .188 career batting average when I was on the mound.  The first time I faced him, on June 28, 1967, he had been playing for the Kansas City Athletics for less than three weeks.  I struck him out.  Reggie’s didn’t play in Yankee Stadium until the next season and I faced him in his second game there, on April 16, 1968.  He hit a Home Run off me, followed by two singles – each time advancing Bert Campanaris to third.  The other game I remember was May 7, 1970 in Oakland. I struck Reggie out three times that game, before he hit a single off me.  For trivia buffs, Reggie’s third and fourth career Home Runs came of Mel Stottlemyre and me.

Leave a Reply

