Happy Birthday, Jerry Kenney

Happy Birthday to my Yankee teammate, Jerry Kenney.  I called Jerry “Lobo,” a nickname given to him by Horace Clarke; he was the Yankees regular third baseman from 1969 to 1972.  We first met way back in 1964 as minor league teammates on the Shelby (North Carolina) Yankees in the Western Carolinas League (Class A).  Lobo made his major league debut on September 5, 1967 at Yankee Stadium.   Unfortunately, I remember the game well.  I started against the White Sox, and gave up three runs in the first inning.  I had nothing, absolutely nothing.  Ralph Houk pulled me in the second after giving up two hits and (accidentally, really) hitting Tommy McCraw with a pitch.  With the Yankees losing 5-3, Lobo led off the bottom of the ninth as a pinch hitter for Ruben Amaro and Bob Locker struck him out.  But that had to be an exciting night for Jerry, who will always be able to say that he played in his first major league game with Mickey Mantle.  #7 came in to pinch hit for Jim Bouton (who replaced me) in the bottom of the second and hit a double, driving in the Yankees third run.

My best memory of Lobo was on September 30, 1970 at Fenway Park.  It was the last game of the season and I was going for my 20th win.  In my book, I described asking Houk to play someone else at third; I’m sure glad The Major didn’t take player requests.  In the fourth, he hit a two-run single to center, driving in Frank Tepedino and Jim Lyttle.  The Yankees won 4-3, and I won 20 games for the only time in my career.

Lobo got dealt to the Indians in 1972, in what would be a monumental deal for the Yankees comeback.  The Yankees sent him, along with Johnny Ellis, Charlie Spikes and Rusty Torres, to Cleveland for Craig Nettles and Jerry Moses.

One comment

  1. enlprodhotmailcom

    Thank you very much for this. I was a BIG Jerry Kenney fan. I never thought the organization gave him as much of a chance as they should have, and favored Gene Michael. Is Jerry Kenney still alive? Do you have any info on him? It would be much appreciated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

